Specialty: Cataract & Lens Surgery; General Ophthalmology

Dr. Edward A. Doisy, III, is a second-generation physician and the grandson of the Nobel Prize Winner, Edward A. Doisy. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and is Board Certified by the American Board of Ophthalmology. Dr. Doisy also is certified in cataract surgery by the American Board of Eye Surgery. He has been practicing in the Madison County, Illinois area for more than 30 years.

He performs hundreds of small-incision, no-stitch cataract and lens implant surgeries each year. He also holds a U.S. patent for a type of cataract surgical equipment. In addition, he was the first surgeon in Southern Illinois to insert the multifocal lens implant. His interests also include medical and surgical treatment of glaucoma. Dr. Doisy performs surgery at the Eyes of Illinois Surgery Center in Maryville, Illinois.

An active member of his community, Dr. Doisy has coordinated local participation for a special eye program called Mission Cataract during the past twenty years. As a volunteer surgeon for Mission Cataract, Dr. Doisy and his associates have performed over 100 cataract surgeries free of charge for patients who were in need of the procedures but did not have the insurance or resources to undergo the surgery. In addition, Dr. Doisy has traveled to Haiti, volunteering his time to treat patients suffering from eye disease and cataracts.

Once named in the Who’s Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities, Dr. Doisy is a graduate of Washington University School of Medicine and a winner of the Danforth Scholarship. He completed his internship at the University of Florida in Gainesville and later served his residency at the St. Louis University Hospital.

A fellow of the American College of Surgeons, he has served as Chief of Surgery at Gateway Regional Medical Center (formerly St. Elizabeth Medical Center) in Granite City and as President of the St. Louis Ophthalmological Society. Dr. Doisy is a professor of clinical ophthalmology at St Louis U. School of Medicine.

He is an active member of the:

  • American Medical Association
  • Illinois State Medical Society
  • Madison County Medical Society (president)
  • American College of Surgeons
  • American Academy of Ophthalmology
  • Missouri Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons
  • St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society
  • St. Louis Ophthalmological Society (past president)
©2017 Illinois Eye Surgeons | Custom Designed Wordpress Website developed by Studio 2108